

Report to COUNCIL

Political Balance Review

Officer Contact: Paul Entwistle, Director of Legal Services

Report Author: Elizabeth Drogan, Head of Constitutional Services

Ext. 4705

12th September 2018

Reason for Decision

The proper officer has been notified that two Borough Councillors are no longer members of the Labour Group.

A review of the allocation of seats to political groups is required at, or as soon as practicable when notice is received of a change in the composition of a political group and changes to committee membership relating to political groups.

There are also some Committee changes which require Council approval following resignation of members from the Committees.

Recommendations

The Council are requested to:

- 1. Note and agree the review of political balance and committees as detailed within the report.
- 2. Agree the composition of the political groups as outlined in the report and that;
 - Councillor Azad be allocated a place on Audit Committee as an Independent Councillor.
 - Councillor Larkin be allocated a place on Overview and Scrutiny as an Independent Councillor.
 - That Councillor Phythian be nominated be to the vacant position of Royton District Executive Chair.
 - That Councillor Byrne replaces Councillor Hudson on the Standards Committee and Councillor Leach replaces Councillor Garry on the Standards Committee.
 - That Councillor Dean replaces Councillor Harrison on the Audit Committee.
 - Note the updated Committee grid as detailed at Appendix 1 (if all the above is agreed).

1 Political Groups

- 1.1 The Council is asked to note the composition of the political groups following Councillor Larkin and Councillor Azad's withdrawal from the Labour group.
 - i. The Labour Group 45 members
 - ii. The Liberal Democrat Group 8 members
 - iii. The Conservative Group 4 members
 - iv. Independent 3 Members
- 1.2 The political group sizes based on 78 Committee places available as a percentage of the total membership of the Council are:-

Labour Group	45/60 x 100 = 77.96%	78 seats x 75% = 58.50	59 Seats
Liberal Democrat Group	8/60 x 100 = 13.33%	78 seats x 13.33% = 10.39	11 Seats
Conservative Group	4/60 x 100 = 6.66%	78 seats x 6.66% = 5.19	5 Seats
Independent	1/60 x 100 = 1.66%	78 seats x 1.66% = 1.29	1 Seats
Independent	1/60 x 100 = 1.66%	78 seats x 1.66 % = 1.29	1 Seat
Independent	1/60 x 100 = 1.66%	78 seats x 1.66% = 1.29	1 seat

Based on a total number of Committee Seats of 78 the table below details the changes in Committee Membership for the Municipal Year 2018/19 from those already agreed at the annual meeting on the 23rd May 2018

Committee	Seats	L	LD	С	I	I	I
Licensing	14	11	1	1	1	0	0
Planning	14	11	2	1	0	0	0
O&S Performance & Value for Money Select Committee	8	6	1	1	0	0	0
O&S Management Board	8	<mark>5</mark>	1	1	0	1	0
Audit Committee	9	<mark>6</mark>	1	1	0	0	1
Commons Registration Committee	5	4	1	0	0	0	0
Selection Committee	5	4	1	0	0	0	0
Local NJC	7	6	1	0	0	0	0
Appeals Committee	3	2	1	0	0	0	0
Charitable Trustee Committee	5	4	1	0	0	0	0
Total	78	<mark>59</mark>	11	5	1	1	1

1.3 The political balance calculation reduces Labour representation on Committees by two seats. 1 place on Audit Committee and 1 place on the Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

Seats for the Independent Councillors have become vacant on the Audit Committee and Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

It is recommended that Councillor Azad be allocated a place on Audit Committee as an Independent Councillor and Councillor Larkin be allocated a place on Overview and Scrutiny as an Independent Councillor.

Further changes to Committee places have been requested:

- That Councillor Phythian be nominated be to the vacant position of Royton District Executive Chair.
- That Councillor Byrne replaces Councillor Hudson of the Standards Committee and a Labour Memebr is nominated to the Standards Committee following the resignation of Councillor Garry.
- That Councillor Dean replaces Councillor Harrison on the Audit Committee.

2. Appendices

Appendix 1 - Refreshed Committee Grid – Municipal year 2018/19